5 tips to help with hunger caused by stress or anxiety.

Recently I’ve noticed that stress or anxiety trigger the feeling that I need to eat something or that I am hungry. Just this week I was doing a task that stressed me out and noticed the instant impact it had; causing a rising feeling out of my stomach telling me that I was hungry where I really wasn’t. 

It’s honestly a bit scary since it was so instantaneous. That my body could have this clear and unhealthy response where it did not before. Where I just overate before because I enjoyed the feeling of eating whatever it is that I chose to indulge in.  

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

This has come to my attention twice now over the last few weeks so I decided to do some research on what to do in response and share what I found.

May is also Mental Health Awareness Month so hopefully this will be useful to someone who is having a similar response to stress and anxiety. 

For me this is not about weight loss but more about giving myself a healthy response to stress induced feelings of hunger. Based on some research here are the tips and tricks I thought might be most effective in this context: 

Tame stress.

While not always easy to do, a clear winner on my list. It aims to address an important part of the problem which is the stress or anxiety that is causing those feelings of hunger. Solutions range from reducing your exposure to the activities or people causing you stress or anxiety; to adopting stress relieving habits like yoga, meditation, playing with a pet, and listening to music. If you have any other effective recommendations you’d like to share please do so in the comments. 

Photo by cottonbro on Pexels.com

Get support. 

I wanted to skip this one since I am currently not in the right place to get therapy and want to focus on things I can do now. If something is bothering you and causing stress beyond what you can tend to with the tips in this list, there is possibly nothing better than talking to someone who can support you in a healthy way however. Consider friends and family or joining a support group.

Snack healthy. 

I also love this one because it helps to create the healthy habit of reaching for healthy foods and snacks to respond to hunger in general. It also indulges your cravings instead depravation (which can nurture even more intense cravings in the long run).

Photo by Vanessa Loring on Pexels.com

Stay hydrated. 

Probably at the top of the list for me because I often forget to drink water these days where it is super important to stay hydrated. I often wind up super thirsty at night after not drinking enough during the day and would happily restore this habit using this very physical prompt. 

Choose healthy distractions. 

Like getting fresh air, going for a walk, or meditating. Or going to lay out in the sun with some music for a bit and eating some sun rays (I love the idea of being nourished by the sun). I have lived the benefits of healthy distractions (or of being busy in a good way) and it is definitely super effective.

Photo by KoolShooters on Pexels.com

The crux of it for me is not to deprive myself but to equip myself or replace bad habits with healthy responses to the challenges I face in general. It is a lot easier than depriving myself or being super hard on myself, and even gives me the perfect in to instate (or re-instate) some healthy habits along the way.

I will be sure to report back on how it goes on my end but please leave a comment with your experiences or recommendations with stress eating if you have it.

With love, always. 

Peace. 

Published by Sarah Jean

Sarah Jean is a freelance writer and researcher with a M.A in sustainability.

Leave a comment